2016 Bar Exam Preparation

Before anything else, there is this one question that every Bar reviewee should ask oneself, that is:

“What are you willing to do to get there?”

I even posted this question on my wall, which serves as a reminder for me that every time I’m tired or whenever lost sight of my goal as a Bar reviewee, the said question will remind/haunt me.

The said question was actually introduced by Ms. Christine Jacob, during one of her interview in the CNN Philippines. The topic was actually about her determination in becoming one of the best swimmer in the Philippines.

So once again let me ask you this question:

“What are you willing to do to get there?”

What exactly should you do to become a Lawyer?

If becoming a lawyer means waking up at 430am, then do it. If it means delaying all gratification push mu yan dearie! If becoming a lawyer means reading the Labor book review material of Atty. Chan from cover to cover, then commit in doing it.

And if it requires practising your handwriting for a month or two, then by all means don’t hesitate. And the lists goes on.

Moreover, before a Bar examinee enter the exam venue, he/she must have gone thru a six months extensive review. The Bar review could either be a self-review, an online review or a review on-site.

There are various Bar review centers and Law schools that offers Bar review (online and/or on-site) that will serve to “refresh” or to equip the Bar examinees on their knowledge relating to relevant Philippine laws and jurisprudence, guide them on how to construct answers; and also provide the Bar reviewees with tips on how to hurdle the Bar exam.

As for me, I have done a one year self-review, since I was not able to graduate together with my batchmates due to a failing mark in Civil Law Review class. I actually got a score of 26/100 in one exam given by a substitute professor. Actually she’s just trying to impose her power tripping because of her “marred” reputation which made her infamous.

Well, instead of being bitter, I spent my “should-be” graduation day in practising volleyball and violin.

Being a positivist, I just think of it this way: “It’s better to fail during Law school, basta take one lang ang Bar exam.” This indeed became my reality. I failed several times during Law school but passed the 2016 Bar exam with just one take. -To God be all glory and honor.

As they say: “Di naman yan paunahan ng pag graduate, importante maging lawyer ka.”

Anyway, since the Civil Law Review is offered in the 2nd Semester, I opted for an advance self-review and even enrolled in Chan Robles on-line Bar review.

Review proper.

After graduation, I enrolled in an on-site and on-line Bar review with Jurists Bar Review Center (JBRC) which was held at Madison Tower, Aurora Boulevard, their lecture schedules are: 530pm to 830pm – Mondays and Fridays; and 8am to 5pm – Saturday and Sunday.

I enrolled in JBRC because of their schedule of review/lecture and the one-on-one coaching. Actually, the one-on-one coaching is very helpful on my part because, somehow, it made me aware of my “flaws” in answering the Mock Bar exam. The advice given by JBRC coaches actually caters the need of every Bar reviewee in the preparation for the actual Bar examination. The said Mock Bar in JBRC was held after the substantive discussion of every Bar exam subjects.

The preparation for the Bar exam need not be that boring, gruelling or dungeon-enclaved-review thingy. Well, as you see, on my part while reviewing for the Bar exam I spent sometime with my own means of “relaxation” and that includes watching TV, doing my weekly grocery, cooking my food, etc. Thus, to justify my “relaxation”, instead of reading review materials/books, I spent some time trying to be updated with recent news updates, tsimis, tv series and even Korean novela.

The journey has been full of dramas. But at the end, I was able to overcome the obstacles that has been set for me to take. These two titles are fruits of my efforts and hard works. And despite all the failures (I failed a lot) as long as you’re determined to continue, patient, God-fearing, and persitent to succeed, at the end you will reap all of these.

I remembered wayback 2002 when i decided to take up accountancy (choice of my father) instead of nursing (my first choice) I am determined that I should have my own choice. Deep in my thoughts then I promised to study law and be a lawyer.

The climb has been rough. Yes, indeed it has been. I failed and failed and failed, but I did not quit. I almost give up but quitting is not an option.

Effective formula for passing the Bar exam may be summed up into four (4) P’s. Plan, Prepare, Practice and Pray.

Plan. I availed a government’s scholarship program offered by COA that is a study leave for 6 months with an equivalent service obligation for 3 years. I enrolled at Jurists Bar Review Center (JBRC) under combo program which includes both on-site lecture and online lecture. JBRC has really been helpful especially the mock bar exam and the one-on-one coaching method. Further, I formulated my study schedule which is in consonance with our review center lecture schedule. Collate all your materials from codals, reviewers to case digests. Moreover, 1 year before the review months I made sure that my study funds are sufficient.

Prepare. The execution is the hardest part of the review. During review, I made sure to wake up early 430am and get sufficient sleep at night. The schedule of JBRC is usually Friday amd Monday night and whole day for both Saturdays and Sundays. At first, I faithfully attended review lectures but sometimes when I am dozing off to sleep listening to the lecturer, I skipped and decided to go home and sleep amd if I have fully regained my alertness I studied inside my room, alone.

During waking hours, I read and read and take some break in between. My version of distracrions during review are: I watched t.v. for hours like the Korean TV Series Lovers in the Moonlight, also a fan of Master Chiefs, Asian/Britain/Australian Top Model, and a lot of movies. Every two weeks I deactivated my fb account and whenever I’m online I made sure that my friends and family knows that I am doing well. Another stress reliever while reviewing is do some groceries, cook my own food, clean my space and malling at Robinson Magnolia and date date pag may time. Honestly, these distractions made my sanity intact.

Practice. I tried to answer some Q and A of previous Bar Examinations. If I don’t know the answers I simply copied the Suggested Answers of UP law and revised the answers according to the 4-paragraph rule in a composition notebook.

Pray. Make it a habit to have a daily devotion. In the course of my review, as for me I read my Bible occassionally. I went to Church on Sundays as much as I can. And comes now November, I prayed a lot and even until in the waiting for its release.

Leave a comment